EALABA at the Plant Weld Triples – 2022


Thirteen EALABA members competed in the Plant Weld Triples Competition at Gedling IBC on the weekend of 1st/2nd October. Gary Swift, Joe Peplow, Mac Otton, Steve Angus, Harry Atkin, John Greaves, Colin Wagstaff, Kahilila Hussein, Paul & Sandra Baker, John & Diane Rogers and Alex Comack.

Two groups of round-robin teams competed for the top two places over 110 minute matches. Flying start with T respot for killed jack. Each team was guaranteed four matches, split between the 2 days, with the finals on Sunday afternoon.

The team of John Greaves, Craig Bowler, and Jonathan Stokes ran away with their league including a match win of 35-5 shots. Runners-up were Gary Swift, Joe Peplow & Fynne Keyser.

Skipper Harry Atkin, lead his team of Sally Barker and Rhys Taylor to second place, on shot difference, in a hotly contested group, progressing with group winners Steve Angus, Mac Otton & Jeff (last-minute stand-in from Gedling).

12 pairs of tired legs carried the players through the grueling battles for 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th places. The later playoff went to the more experienced team, led by Gary Swift, which won 13-4.

Given the previous domination of John Greaves’s team, the final was a totally different matter! Following a very slow start, clever tactics dominated with some excellent bowling. Despite lots of quality bowls from John’s team plus all-out firing, the tactics of Steve Angus, and his team proved victorious with a dominating 17-5 win over class elite opponents. Following Steve’s 3rd place performance at the EALABA Singles Championships, combined with, this performance quality by the ever consistent Steve Angus must be recognised by the Disability Bowls England selectors!

Huge thanks go to Plant Weld and Engineering Ltd, Mr & Mrs Douglas Carlin, whose company has been sponsoring this competition since the mid 1990’s.

Gedling Indoor Bowls Club and its members, yet again, gave phenomenal support, led by the wonderful Maggy Smith MBE.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *